top of page

Word of God Speak: Standing on the Promises of God

I can't believe that it's almost May! This year is flying by! Don't you wish that your trials could go by as fast as time does? I sure do! This year has been especially trying for me and my family and somewhere along the way, I was focused on nothing else but my circumstances. I was reminded that God has given us the Bible to sustain us and give us hope in the midst of our troubles. I'm so thankful that He gave us His written Word to turn to. I want to share just a few of the scriptures the Lord led me to.

When we feel that the world is dark all around us, we can read Psalm 19:1 which says that the heaven's declare the glory of the Lord and that can lead us into a praise to the Lord.

When we don't know who on this earth we can turn to and that people are talking about us behind our backs, we can look in Proverbs 3:5-6 that tells us to "trust in the Lord with all our heart and lean not to our own understanding; acknowledge the Lord in all our ways and he shall direct our paths."

If we need assurance that even in our circumstances, God has a plan, we can turn to Jeremiah 29:11 that says "For I know the plans I have for you, plans to prosper you and give you a future." That's one of my favorite promises of all...to know that my trials, as much as they hurt, ARE part of God's plan. If we don't go through the trials, we'll never develop reliance on God which is part of our relationship with Him. Just as a child relies on their parents to teach them the necessary things to survive in life, so it is with God. Sometimes God uses tests us to teach us lessons within ourselves or teach us to rely on Him more.

I am not normally a fearful person, but some of the things I've been going through this year invoked a lot of fear in me at one point. When I took my eyes off my problems and put them back on Him, guess what? All of that fear subsided. It is that very turnaround that caused me to get into God's Word which tells us that He "has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power, of love, and of a sound mind." (2 Timothy 1:7).

Anxiousness and fear usually go hand in hand, but when you feel it rising up, just turn to Philippians 4:6-7 where it says "Be anxious for nothing, but in every situation, by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving let your requests be known unto God. And the peace that passes all understanding will keep your hearts and mind through Jesus Christ."

Ephesians 6:13 says to "Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand. Whatever you are facing in your life today, turn to the Word of God and stand on the promises.

Be encouraged and be blessed!

Rose

bottom of page